Darrell was just kinda walking around...then I went to the next set of blinds.
Ya, the ones to the far left again..then to the ones straight ahead....then I made it to the door. If I was telling the story out lout I was go....duhnn duhnn duhnn.
I turned on the light (remember its still dark out at 5:30) and had my face plastered the glass of the door (Im short enough were I can't just look out and see what's there) then all of the sudden the door knob and door started SHAKING BACK AND FORTH. At this point Dirtdude is right behind me and all I did was grab the knob and push the door back where it is supposed to be (door still shaking). I said absolutely nothing. All I knew is something really bad was happening. I think I went into survival mode. I am just really happy I did not decide to scream and run away like 98% of women that I know.
So short recap. Dirtdude hears something, we get out of bed to check. Im checking windows...I turn on light and door starts more than shaking and I just push up against the door and grab knob.
After a few minutes of this, Dirtdude grabs my shoulder and tells me he will take care of the door, and to go call 911.
I call 911- Operator was more than helpful. I answered the questions such as..How many people? My answer- I have no idea. I just know the door is shaking and I can't see anyone.
Is there a chance you know this person- Nope, just moved here 1 day ago.
Did you ask them to leave-uhh....I decided not to talk to the person
Who else is in the house with you? My boyfriend.
Do you have any weapons in the house? umm No. (looking back...I could have said butter knife)
Our whole conversation he kept me and the officers on their way updated.....
Then Dirtdude-wisphered to me, A, I don't see the person anymore and the door stopped moving. I of course told the police this..and they dispatcher told me the cops would then be coming from multiple directions.
(dirtdude was beginning to freak a bit, I mean I was too..and I bet if I were to go back and listen to my 911 call, I would be talking a mile a minute)
Dirtdude did an awesome job holding the door...and protecting the door. I honestly believe our adrenaline was so high if someone would have made it in (and didn't have a weapon) we could have hurt that person..I know I was ready to defend. (my plan of attack was eye balls first..then groin) (yes, I had that thought process)
The dispatcher then said, officers are there ma'am..and will enter when safe. I told Dirtdue. Cops are here.. then we heard it/saw it.
FREEZE. ON YOUR FACE NOW and some more really loud yelling (I would say it woke the neighborhood) ohh yeah and two cop cars with their lights on. Did I mention all FOUR police officers had their guns drawn.....yep to that door right there..ya know the one you cant see..but is there. I promise.
ok...so at this point we then decide its safe to turn the porch lights back on...this was after the incredibly drunk girl on our porch was handcuffed and standing up.
This is what the conversations that happend between us the officers and the girl. The girl could not see us, she was outside and one officer was inside with us.
Officer 1-(inside with us) Sorry about that--no school tomorrow so a little bit tooo much drinking..can we get your name and DOB..so Dirtdude and I give that..and during this, this conversation happend outside.
Officer 2-talking to girl outside-- Sir what's your name- Dirtdude, Shantel, Do you know dirtdude? Answer- No
officer 2- ma'am what's your name- A- Shantel, do you know A- YEAAAH I KNOW A.
ME- no, I do not know anyone in this town...(officer shaking his head and rolling eyes at shantel) No, you don't know her.
the door re-opens and we hear Shantel trying to explain what our living room looks like. Officer opens the door. -NOPE NOT THEIR LIVING ROOM.
Then Shantel goes on and tries to pretend that she hasn't been drinking and tells the cops she's only had TWO beers...HA. They just went ahead and took her to jail.
The sad part about all of this. SHE DROVE TO OUR HOUSE. Here's her car.
The situation could have been much worse....an actual burglar on our part..and for her...we did not open the door with a ball bat and beat the crap out of her...and she didn't kill anyone driving to our house. (I also hope she gets help and never gets so intoxicated she ends up on a front porch when its 30 degrees out again)
I obviously talked to the police and he reassured me that our neighborhood was very safe..and the only reason he knew where we were was the bar that is close to our house. Kudos to the Edwardsville Police Department. They were fast, awesome, and very helpful.
As Darrell's Cousin Leslie put it..it was just a nice welcome to the neighborhood gift. I hope if she decides to return she just knocks during DAYLIGHT. I'll gladly show her our living room.
No comments:
Post a Comment