Monday, November 30, 2009

Working-SAHM-WAHM-aldkjfalf

I am writing this down to see how different my opinion is when I actually have children. Right now, my thoughts on working when I have children are very strong.

As of right now, I plan on marrying dirtdude. Actually, if we could afford it..we would probably already be engaged..and if I was a wee older..married...there's no secret there...(already planning a wedding on a cruise ship) Why the info??? We are living together and already dealing with financial stuff.

So back to my thoughts. Dirtdude works for Edward Jones. Right now he does not make much but eventually if he stays on the right path, he would probably make enough that I would not have to work. I say probably because nothing is definite. How do I feel about this? I think its friggin' awesome. Will I ever take advantage of this? HELL NO. I grew up with a mother and father who both worked. (both have their masters) I feel sooo strongly that this made me the person that I am today. Since I was in 5th grade, I have woken up to an alarm all by myself. I always fixed my own lunch and never hesitated going to camp and never really missed my mom. (cheerleading camp I missed my mom because I was in a living hell--I mean if you know me...you know why I felt this way) Do I know how I will feel after I have kids?? I have no idea. I am sure I will want to be around for the first year of their lives...but after that back to work. Part of this reason is because I believe in equality. I plan on getting my masters in administration and hopefully possibly getting my specialist. Is it fair to put all the weight of income on dirtdude...No? what if something happens?? What if he is driving home and gets killed? What would we do to survive for the long term? Im interested in seeing how much this changes..if it changes at all after children?

Now, if I said this on the Oprah show..i would have millions of women gunning me down..and ready to skin me alive. I realize stay at home moms are "busy" I reallly do. However, what about women like my Mom? She worked in the oil field, hated her husband, divorced him, had two children, went back to school.. worked the whole time..had a mortgage..and still had to clean and do laundry? mmm?? what about my mom after she had me...and had married my dad? She still worked 40 plus hours (teachers don't just work from 8-3..common misunderstanding) and cooked and cleaned..ohh ya..then she got her masters plus 16. So, yes to all the women to go preach on the Oprah show about how busy they are. I completely agree you are...and yes, you are just as important as the breadwinner in your house. However, you CAN NOT ever tell me you are as busy as my mother was. Don't even try...or you will get a lashing like no other. My other comment about Oprah crazed stay at home moms. OPRAH'S WORKING. Mmmm??? I am ready for the stay at home mom to stand up and say yes, I am worn out and I am tired..but the working mom is probably working a little harder than I am. (this is a wee cruel..but don't you just got kinda crazy only talking to children and not using your degree/brain power)

Next, work at home moms. If you are working at home and stay at home with your kids. WOW, you are one self-disciplined person. Time separation would be hard. Its the best of both worlds..but i bet it is hard. I don't really have much of an opinion other than to say. ROCK ON. Your husband can never hold anything above your head...and you can be the best mommy in the world.

How does this all apply to me?? So am I appreciative that Dirtdude is going to be successful enough that we won't have to count our pennies? Yes, I am. Is dirtdude appreciative that I will also earn a nice income..yes. For me, it is also pride...I am excited to bring an income in. I am excited to not feel guilty when I buy a pair of shoes. I am so excited to contribute to our life. Another thing that is important to me..is I always want Dirtdude to view me as an equal... and as intelligent. We fell in love with each other for those traits, so it is also my job as his life partner to maintain that "trait". Also, my parents have already spent lots of $$ on my degree...I think i'll use it.

As a side note, we have already agreed that once we are married, our incomes are going into one account..and that's that. If we were going to have separate stuff, I would have just kept my last name.



Friday, November 27, 2009

WELCOME!


So this Wednesday...I mean late Tuesday night/actually Wednesday morning at 5:28 a.m. Dirtdude and I were woken up unexpectedly. Actually, Darrell woke me up ask me if I heard something. (this has never happened in the four and a half years we have been together) Me, being the moody person I am in the morning just fell back asleep...well for about 3 seconds till Dirtdude jabbed me again and said A...did you really not hear that. At this point Dirtdude decided to get up go check. I decided I should probably get my lazy butt out of bed and help him look "just in case." HA. The way our house is set up, Dirtdude went to the back door and I went to the "kitchen area" and started looking through the blinds. The ones the far LEFT in this photo.
Darrell was just kinda walking around...then I went to the next set of blinds.


Ya, the ones to the far left again..then to the ones straight ahead....then I made it to the door. If I was telling the story out lout I was go....duhnn duhnn duhnn.

I turned on the light (remember its still dark out at 5:30) and had my face plastered the glass of the door (Im short enough were I can't just look out and see what's there) then all of the sudden the door knob and door started SHAKING BACK AND FORTH. At this point Dirtdude is right behind me and all I did was grab the knob and push the door back where it is supposed to be (door still shaking). I said absolutely nothing. All I knew is something really bad was happening. I think I went into survival mode. I am just really happy I did not decide to scream and run away like 98% of women that I know.

So short recap. Dirtdude hears something, we get out of bed to check. Im checking windows...I turn on light and door starts more than shaking and I just push up against the door and grab knob.

After a few minutes of this, Dirtdude grabs my shoulder and tells me he will take care of the door, and to go call 911.

I call 911- Operator was more than helpful. I answered the questions such as..How many people? My answer- I have no idea. I just know the door is shaking and I can't see anyone.

Is there a chance you know this person- Nope, just moved here 1 day ago.

Did you ask them to leave-uhh....I decided not to talk to the person

Who else is in the house with you? My boyfriend.

Do you have any weapons in the house? umm No. (looking back...I could have said butter knife)

Our whole conversation he kept me and the officers on their way updated.....

Then Dirtdude-wisphered to me, A, I don't see the person anymore and the door stopped moving. I of course told the police this..and they dispatcher told me the cops would then be coming from multiple directions.

(dirtdude was beginning to freak a bit, I mean I was too..and I bet if I were to go back and listen to my 911 call, I would be talking a mile a minute)

Dirtdude did an awesome job holding the door...and protecting the door. I honestly believe our adrenaline was so high if someone would have made it in (and didn't have a weapon) we could have hurt that person..I know I was ready to defend. (my plan of attack was eye balls first..then groin) (yes, I had that thought process)

The dispatcher then said, officers are there ma'am..and will enter when safe. I told Dirtdue. Cops are here.. then we heard it/saw it.

FREEZE. ON YOUR FACE NOW and some more really loud yelling (I would say it woke the neighborhood) ohh yeah and two cop cars with their lights on. Did I mention all FOUR police officers had their guns drawn.....yep to that door right there..ya know the one you cant see..but is there. I promise.

ok...so at this point we then decide its safe to turn the porch lights back on...this was after the incredibly drunk girl on our porch was handcuffed and standing up.

This is what the conversations that happend between us the officers and the girl. The girl could not see us, she was outside and one officer was inside with us.

Officer 1-(inside with us) Sorry about that--no school tomorrow so a little bit tooo much drinking..can we get your name and DOB..so Dirtdude and I give that..and during this, this conversation happend outside.

Officer 2-talking to girl outside-- Sir what's your name- Dirtdude, Shantel, Do you know dirtdude? Answer- No

officer 2- ma'am what's your name- A- Shantel, do you know A- YEAAAH I KNOW A.
ME- no, I do not know anyone in this town...(officer shaking his head and rolling eyes at shantel) No, you don't know her.

the door re-opens and we hear Shantel trying to explain what our living room looks like. Officer opens the door. -NOPE NOT THEIR LIVING ROOM.

Then Shantel goes on and tries to pretend that she hasn't been drinking and tells the cops she's only had TWO beers...HA. They just went ahead and took her to jail.

The sad part about all of this. SHE DROVE TO OUR HOUSE. Here's her car.

The situation could have been much worse....an actual burglar on our part..and for her...we did not open the door with a ball bat and beat the crap out of her...and she didn't kill anyone driving to our house. (I also hope she gets help and never gets so intoxicated she ends up on a front porch when its 30 degrees out again)

I obviously talked to the police and he reassured me that our neighborhood was very safe..and the only reason he knew where we were was the bar that is close to our house. Kudos to the Edwardsville Police Department. They were fast, awesome, and very helpful.

As Darrell's Cousin Leslie put it..it was just a nice welcome to the neighborhood gift. I hope if she decides to return she just knocks during DAYLIGHT. I'll gladly show her our living room.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Tis the season

Tis the season to be.........

Rude?
Obnoxious?
Joyful?
Jolly?

I love the theory of Christmas time. I really do. I love giving gifts. I love receiving gifts. I love spending time with my family...(even though we are fighting right now) I love everything about this time of year except.... CHRISTMAS SHOPPING.

I understand that everyone wants to get the most for the least amount of money..hense Black Friday. However, we have all been the ones in the store that hear the obnoxious shopper yelling at the sales clerk. Better yet, I don't know if you have ever participated in early hour Black Shopping "excitement". People will knock you down to get to the 10 dollar Elmo. In fact last year a woman died at Wal-Mart from being trampled. Seriously, was it worth it?

As for obnoxious shoppers, I have been on both sides. I have been the clerk and the pissed off shopper. Looking back was there any reason for me to be pissed off at the sales clerk? No. Everyone gets caught up in the moment..

This is such a random post..but I hate truly hate thanksgiving and walking into stores right now because everyone is so bleeping rude...the customers are rude to the employees and the employees rude to the customers.

Tis the Season to be....

One more thing....food drives are great.... but what about January through October?? Do you not believe that families in need are hungry then as well??


Thursday, November 12, 2009

Spring break 09


This past spring break Dirtdude and I decided to make the trip to Mooresville North Carolina. I really do not know what possesed us to do this. Neither of us knew what was out there or what we would do to fill our time. However, I would say that Dirtdue and I had more of a problem just sitting down and taking a breath. We decided to go out there and stay with Cody Hood, who was more than a host to us. Cody is a great guy and a good racer. He's out there going to Nascar Technical School.
Anyways, Dirtdude and I had no idea what we were going to do. We planed on driving around and "looking" at all the race shops and just looking around Charlotte. Little did we know it would be the busiest week of our lives!! For the better of course. When we got there and were hanging out with cody, we discovered that we could actually GO INTO the race shops and check things out. So we could literally walk into Tony Stewarts, Jimmy Johnsons, and ALL of your favorite nascar heros'! How friggin' cool. Dirtdude and I were absoultly mezmorized at the money, time, and cleanliness of the shops!

This is me at Hendrick(sp)..wowza..AWESOME!

Dirtdude by Ryan Newman's car at Stewarts place


Dirtdude outside of Roush Fenway

Not only did we get to go inside and visit all the race shops and check things out and go from one huge building to the next but we also went to Lowe's motorspeedway and got to see some of practice. They go SOOO FAST

Ohh I love this guy!!

Such a cool place!
My favorite race shop was RCR. They had all of Dale Earnhardts cars and had kept them all.. Pretty amazing!

Dirtdude and I had an absolute friggin blast looking at all these race shops...I think we even shed a few tears when we went to DEI.

We truly did have an amazing time looking at all of these shops. Someday, Dirtdude and I will retrun. I don't know when...but it was such a special trip for us that we will return.

Another fun part of the trip was going to visit my uncle and aunt (who were more than stellar to us) and then on see UNC, NC State, and Duke. We just went ahead and let ourselves check it out.

Both places were amazing!!

Then later that night...

NBA game in Charlotte.
THEN...

on to Gatlinburg!

I would say its safe to say that Dirtdude and I had one of the most fun and outgoing spring breaks ever. I would not change the amazing week that Dirtdude and I had!

My absolute favorite part of the trip was just Dirtdude and I in the car...traveling down the road... enjoying each other.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

off to see the wizard..I mean the fitness center.


So I am out of Class for the day... YUCK. I have a ton of homework to do. I mean a ton. Well just a major test. I have read some for the test...but I deff. have more to do. I know everyone wants to go back to the time when they were in school.....but why??? What is so fun about being so gosh darn dirt poor that you don't know where your next meal is coming from?? What is so fun about stressing over grades and test?? What is so fun about getting highly intoxicated and throwing up everywhere?? Ohh wait that's just me because im highly allergic to alcohol. Speaking of alcohol..im legal in exactly 35 days. You know what else is super fun on December 16th?? I HAVE TWO FINALS. Yep, my twenty first birthday I have two finals. Figures. Luckily, I have not practiced abstinence and know what alcohol does and does to my body. If its not Miller Lite (which is NOT one of my favorites) then don't buy it for me on that special I mean horrid day.
However, alcohol is not the reason for this post. What I was going to say is...instead of grabbing a red bull and heading straight to library and attempting to study..i mean gawk at other people doing stupid things. I am going to EXERCISE then grab a Red Bull and head to the library to the study..i mean gawk at other people doing stupid things.
My weight has gotten a little out of control again. BOOO. When I graduated high school, I was easily a size 0-2... (I was an exercise freak and didn't know it) The weight came at the END of my freshman year of college. I was sooo good about eating right and working out till about well April..when Dirtdudes grandma died..then well... now I am 5'2 and 130 pounds. (size 4) The weight has to come off before it gets out of control.

I realize it is not a huge size. Honestly though, when your short, that extra 15 pounds is a lot...and its gotta go. I have been KINDA working on it...but Dirtdude would verify that I have been half assing it. (when he returns from KYC-he will find a handful of skittles next to his side of the bed...ohh and maybe some LOW-FAT graham crackers)

So I am here to say today, I WILL be losing the weight and I am headed to gym. (Hopefully to find parking) and work my little (now big..hope to be small soon) bottom off.

I see this picture and i go EWWW GROSS and that has to change. Soo let me say it for you when you view this picture. EWWW GROSS. (ignore the massive burn)

Monday, November 9, 2009

The good, bad, and ugly

I hesitate to write this post because no one really reads my post except for me...and well a few other people because my stat counter and a few IP addresses tell me differently. However, this is a journal for myself....and if i was on my "old" blog I feel that I would have support. Bummer. So if you have a bad opinion..keep it to yourself and X out..uhhh NOW.

Im currently dating one of the best men I know, Dirtdude...or McDirt. I love him dearly with all of my heart and soul. He knows this. However, our problems are with his family. (him immediate family) His extended family are some of the best people I know and I feel very close to them all. However, Dirtdude and I have some issues with his parents.

C & D have never ever had a daughter. Ever. I am the first serious girl to enter their lives for an extended period. (AND IM NOT GOING ANYWHERE) Sometimes things happen that should not happen. It hurts my feelings and I am really hurt and do not know what to do.

Dirtdude loves and is very loyal to his parents so it is hard for him to see that sometimes his parents say things that hurt people. I am glad he is loyal to his parents...it is a rather attractive attribute.

I know most people are probably saying..its the typical "in-law" thing. However, this is not TYPICAL at all. The typical in-law things were what my ex-boyfriends parents did!

However, I know I must push everything aside for the one person I do love. I just wish he would let me... uhh...survive..or departmentalize...or just keep my mouth shut. for some reason...he wants me to be..well... the typical ME!!

However, tomorrow, I will wake up with a smile again and love him dearly because that's what I do. I will do what he wants me to do for his family because I will.... mmm??? Tomorrow will be a good day!!! I love him..And I will do this for him.

New House

Well, We got the word Tuesday that Dirtdude would be working in Troy, Il. Yay! We will be living in Edwardsville and Darrell will be commuting to Troy for the next few months! Whoo hoo! We found the perfect house and can not wait to move. Pictures as soon as I have my camera and cord to upload!!


Monday, November 2, 2009

Crabtree Photography...


So Maybe tomorrow I will get ambitious and post some pictures of Dirtdude and I and the story behind Crabtree photography...but tonight...I just feel like putting my favorite up.

*Simpson is a race brand--yes we took professional pictures with race shirts on. Precious.

Maddie update

Maddie is getting so darn big....


She is right around 30 pounds. We figured she would be wayyy bigger seeing as her mom and dad were both around 50 pounds. I think we may have the run
t of the liter..which makes me love her even more!
The other day I woke up and walked in the den and found maddie ate a nice hole in the carpet. I should have taken a picture of it...but it was about 7:00 a.m. and I really needed to get a move on. Its has about a 3 inch circumference. Yes, maddie knows she made a circle.

My mom handled the news very well. She said its her new outlook on life to work on relationships and not the small things. (I agree with her) Prior to this new outlook my mothers house was her pride and joy. She takes very good care of everything and all the furniture is set up so pretty. I remember when we built our house in 04 we paid for the super nice expensive carpet...that just makes Maddie's little incident even funnier.

In other news....We still do not know where we are moving to...sad..seeing as in literally two weeks from today Dirtdude is supposed to be living in the "metro east, north".

Also this weekend, I stripped, sanded, painted, resanded and painted again lots of fun furniture...pictures of this will also be coming soon.