As of right now, I plan on marrying dirtdude. Actually, if we could afford it..we would probably already be engaged..and if I was a wee older..married...there's no secret there...(already planning a wedding on a cruise ship) Why the info??? We are living together and already dealing with financial stuff.
So back to my thoughts. Dirtdude works for Edward Jones. Right now he does not make much but eventually if he stays on the right path, he would probably make enough that I would not have to work. I say probably because nothing is definite. How do I feel about this? I think its friggin' awesome. Will I ever take advantage of this? HELL NO. I grew up with a mother and father who both worked. (both have their masters) I feel sooo strongly that this made me the person that I am today. Since I was in 5th grade, I have woken up to an alarm all by myself. I always fixed my own lunch and never hesitated going to camp and never really missed my mom. (cheerleading camp I missed my mom because I was in a living hell--I mean if you know me...you know why I felt this way) Do I know how I will feel after I have kids?? I have no idea. I am sure I will want to be around for the first year of their lives...but after that back to work. Part of this reason is because I believe in equality. I plan on getting my masters in administration and hopefully possibly getting my specialist. Is it fair to put all the weight of income on dirtdude...No? what if something happens?? What if he is driving home and gets killed? What would we do to survive for the long term? Im interested in seeing how much this changes..if it changes at all after children?
Now, if I said this on the Oprah show..i would have millions of women gunning me down..and ready to skin me alive. I realize stay at home moms are "busy" I reallly do. However, what about women like my Mom? She worked in the oil field, hated her husband, divorced him, had two children, went back to school.. worked the whole time..had a mortgage..and still had to clean and do laundry? mmm?? what about my mom after she had me...and had married my dad? She still worked 40 plus hours (teachers don't just work from 8-3..common misunderstanding) and cooked and cleaned..ohh ya..then she got her masters plus 16. So, yes to all the women to go preach on the Oprah show about how busy they are. I completely agree you are...and yes, you are just as important as the breadwinner in your house. However, you CAN NOT ever tell me you are as busy as my mother was. Don't even try...or you will get a lashing like no other. My other comment about Oprah crazed stay at home moms. OPRAH'S WORKING. Mmmm??? I am ready for the stay at home mom to stand up and say yes, I am worn out and I am tired..but the working mom is probably working a little harder than I am. (this is a wee cruel..but don't you just got kinda crazy only talking to children and not using your degree/brain power)
Next, work at home moms. If you are working at home and stay at home with your kids. WOW, you are one self-disciplined person. Time separation would be hard. Its the best of both worlds..but i bet it is hard. I don't really have much of an opinion other than to say. ROCK ON. Your husband can never hold anything above your head...and you can be the best mommy in the world.
How does this all apply to me?? So am I appreciative that Dirtdude is going to be successful enough that we won't have to count our pennies? Yes, I am. Is dirtdude appreciative that I will also earn a nice income..yes. For me, it is also pride...I am excited to bring an income in. I am excited to not feel guilty when I buy a pair of shoes. I am so excited to contribute to our life. Another thing that is important to me..is I always want Dirtdude to view me as an equal... and as intelligent. We fell in love with each other for those traits, so it is also my job as his life partner to maintain that "trait". Also, my parents have already spent lots of $$ on my degree...I think i'll use it.
As a side note, we have already agreed that once we are married, our incomes are going into one account..and that's that. If we were going to have separate stuff, I would have just kept my last name.